Replay With Sound Play Full Screen Hide Video CLOSE

Election November 15, 2014


The General Election for the City of Dawson Creek Council and School District Trustees was
held November 15, 2014. Following the ballot tally and the compilation of Ballot Accounts,
the following are declared elected for a four-year term:
Mayor: Dale Bumstead – elected by acclamation
Councillors: Terry McFadyen – elected
Cheryl Shuman – elected
Mark Rogers – elected
Shaely Wilbur – elected
Charles Parslow – elected
Paul Gevatkoff – elected
School District No. 59 Trustees: Richard (Dick) Powell – elected
Tamara Ziemer – elected

GENERAL VOTING DAY will be open to qualified electors of the City of Dawson Creek on SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 15, 2014 between the hours of 8:00 am and 8:00 pm at the following location:

10401 – 10th Street, Dawson Creek, BC (the old Post Office)

Advance Voting Opportunities

Advance voting will be open on Wednesday, November 5, 2014 and Wednesday, November 12, 2014 also at the CALVIN KRUK CENTRE FOR THE ARTS, 10401 – 10thStreet, Dawson Creek, BC (the old Post office) between the hours of 8:00 am and 8:00 pm each day.

Special Voting Opportunities (Mobile Poll)

Special voting opportunities will be available on General Election Day Saturday, November 15, 2014, at the following locations and times:

Rotary Manor Senior Citizens’ Home, 1121 – 90th Avenue 9:00am to 11:00am
Rotary Village Senior Citizens’ Home, 10717 – 13th Street 11:30am to 12:30pm
Dawson Creek & District Hospital, 11100 – 13th Street 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Heritage Heights Senior Citizens’ Complex, 11335 – 17th Street 3:30pm to 4:30pm

Read the Full Notice of Election  

Nominations Received – Final

Last updated October 10, 2014 @ 4:00 pm

For the Office of Mayor:

Dale Bumstead Nomination Documents – Acclaimed.

For the Office of Councillor:

Cheryl Shuman Nomination Documents 

Shaely Wilbur Nomination Documents 

Arleene Thorpe Nomination Documents 

Terry McFadyen Nomination Documents 

Johanna Kunz Nomination Documents 

Kevin Zarifeh Nomination Documents 

Wayne Dahlen Nomination Documents 

Charles Parslow Nomination Documents 

Theresa Gladue Nomination Documents 

Paul Gevatkoff Nomination Documents

Mark Rogers Nomination Documents 

Justin Pylatuk Nomination Documents 

For the Office of Board of Education Trustee (City of Dawson Creek – Electoral Area 3):

Richard Powell Nomination Documents 

Tamara Ziemer Nomination Documents 

Tim Bennett Nomination Documents 

David Griffith Nomination Documents



The Nomination Period closed at 4:00pm on October 10th.

The period to withdraw candidacy ends on October 17th at 4:00 pm

Find information on who has filed Nomination documents around the province on theCivicinfo (link opens in a new window) website.


Campaigning can begin whenever you wish.  You will need to open a separate bank account for all election expenses as soon as you have either received a donation to your campaign or have spent any funds on your campaign.  

Information for Candidates

Please go to the Elections BC (link opens in a new window) website for valuable information about Elections BC’s new role.

Useful information for candidates (link opens in a new window) can also be found on the Province’s website. An onlinewebinar (link opens in a new window) is available for viewing at your convenience.

The Elections BC local elections campaign financing team is available to answer questions by phone at 1-855-952-0280 (toll-free) or by email at


Do You Qualify to Vote?

You may vote as a resident elector if you:

  • are a Canadian Citizen
  • are 18 years of age or more on general voting day
  • have lived in BC for at least 6 months before you register to vote
  • have lived in the City of Dawson Creek for 30 days or more before you register to vote
  • are not disqualified from voting by any statute or law

You may vote as a non-resident property elector if you:

  • are not a resident of the City of Dawson Creek
  • are a Canadian Citizen
  • are 18 years of age or more on general voting day (November 15)
  • have lived in BC for at least 6 months before you register to vote
  • are the registered owner of real property in the City of Dawson Creek for at least 30 days immediately before the day of registering
  • are not disqualified from voting by any statute or law

If more than one person owns the property, only one owner may register and that person must have the written consent of a majority of the other owners. Note the property must be in the name(s) of individuals and not in the name of a company.

Eligible Voters wishing to register in advance have until September 23, 2014 to come in to City Hall to complete a registration form. (Registration can also be done on voting day).

How to Register on Voting Day

If you are not on the Voters’ List, but are qualified to vote as a Resident Elector at advance voting or on voting day, you may register at any designated voting place.

You must bring at least 2 documents that provide evidence of your identity and place of residence. At least one of the documents must contain your signature.


You must provide two documents producing evidence of your identity, at least one of which must contain your signature.  You must also be prepared to sign a solemn declaration as to your place of residence. If you do not comply with these requirements, you will not be registered to vote.

The following documents only will be accepted for identification:

  • a British Columbia Driver’s License
  • an Owner’s Certificate of Insurance and Vehicle License issued by the Insurance Corporation of B.C.
  • a British Columbia CareCard or British Columbia Gold CareCard
  • a British Columbia Identification Card
  • a Ministry of Social Development and Economic Security Request for Continued Assistance form SDES8
  • a Social Insurance Card issued by Human Resources Development Canada
  • a Citizenship Card issued by Citizenship and Immigration Canada
  • a real property tax notice issued under section 269 of the Local Government Act or section 21 of the Taxation (Rural Area) Act
  • a credit card or debit card issued by a savings institution as defined in Section 29 of the Interpretation Act, or
  • a utility bill issued for the supply of electricity, natural gas, water, telephone services or coaxial cable service by
    · a public utility as defined in section 1 of the Utilities Commission Act
    · a gas utility as defined in section 1 of the Gas Utility Act
    · a water utility as defined in section 1 of the Water Act
    · the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority, or
    · a corporation licensed by the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission for the purposes of that supply.

Voting Opportunities

All Voting opportunities will take place at the Calvin Kruk Centre at 10401 10th Street.

Advanced voting is open for anyone who would like to vote prior to General Election Day for any reason. Advanced voting will take place from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm on the following dates:

  • November 5th
  • November 12th

November 15th – General Election Day – polls will be open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm.

BC Elections Information

The following links will provide more information on elections:

Ministry of Community Services, Local Government Division (link opens in a new window)

Automated Voting Machine Authorization Bylaw 

3993 General Local Government Election Bylaw (Consolidated Version) 

Civic Info BC (Candidate information and Unofficial Election Night Results) (link opens in a new window)

Contact Information

For further information regarding Dawson Creek’s municipal elections, please contact:

Brenda Ginter, Chief Election Officer
10105 12A Street
Dawson Creek, BC V1G 3V7
Tel: 250.784.3614

More information will be posted to this web page as election day approaches.