FREE Online Sessions: “Water Safety Tips for Families”

By popular demand, the Red Cross has extended their First Aid and Water Safety Tips for Families series and added new dates for July and August!

Sessions are free of charge and open to everyone! Families are invited to join Canadian Red Cross volunteers for virtual, interactive, game-based learning sessions highlighting the importance of first aid and water safety knowledge. 

These 15-minute fun, interactive, kid-friendly online sessions cover a variety of topics that will test participants’ knowledge and provide helpful tips and safe practices to incorporate into daily life. 

Register by clicking on the blue links below!

*Note – time is EST (1:00pm EST would be 10:00am in Dawson Creek)

DATE TIME TOPIC
Wednesday, July 8 1:00 PM EST Backyard Pool Safety – Supervision is key!
Friday, July 10 1:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! Heat-Related Injuries
Monday, July 13 1:00 PM EST Lifejackets – how to choose the right lifejacket, fit it, and keep it in good condition
Wednesday, July 15 3:00 PM EST Lifejackets – the best one is the one you wear!
Friday, July 17 12:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! HELP and Huddle – Keep everyone warm!
Monday, July 20 1:00 PM EST Prepare for Your Boating Trip
Wednesday, July 22 1:00 PM EST Stay Safe During your Boating Trip
Friday, July 24 1:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! Scrapes, cuts, and other wounds
Monday, July 27 1:00 PM EST Know your limits! Know what to do if you see someone in distress
Wednesday, July 29 1:00 PM EST Dangers of Open Water – Know the risks and the fun wherever you swim this summer!
Friday, July 31 12:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! Bee stings, animal bites and knowing what to do!
Wednesday, August 5 1:00 PM EST Lifejackets and other buoyant vests – are they safe? What you should know about staying safe, in, on, and around the water
Friday, August 7 4:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! Prevention of choking – know the danger
Monday, August 10 1:00 PM EST Summer fun around the water – how to enjoy spray parks, wading pools in your community
Wednesday, August 12 1:00 PM EST Backyard Pool Safety! Know the rules
Friday, August 14 1:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! A choking demo for you and your family
Monday, August 17 2:00 PM EST Next steps – you can be a Water Safety Instructor or a Lifeguard!
Wednesday, August 19 4:00 PM EST Water Safety Reminders from Buckles!
Friday, August 21 2:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! A CPR demo for you and your family
Monday, August 24 1:00 PM EST Stop! Ask! Go Slow! A slogan for all ages!
Wednesday, August 26 1:00 PM EST Next steps – you can be a Water Safety Instructor or a Lifeguard!
Friday, August 28 12:00 PM EST First Aid Fridays! Debunking first aid myths